Is my spouse lost forever?

Have you ever felt like there was just NOTHING you could do or say to diffuse a situation or change someones mind? Me too! Almost every day!

I have learned that we cannot change other people. It just isnt possible.

DONT FRET!!!! Remember, there is still hope!

Heres a little story. An example if you will. A long while ago, my husband was a jehovahs witness. He was raised in a religion that gave him a general disregard, and fear of God. Rightly so given what he was put through. He knew no better because he was never given the chance. Our marriage was very very rocky, and mostly because of what I had done to hurt him, among other things. He had past experiences in relationships with “religion” and it never went well for him, so when I really became saved and wanted to start attending church, he was terrified!!!! He didn’t like the idea that I would be putting something else over him. He didn’t want to lose me like he lost others in the past, and he was skeptical about God and if he even gave a crap about us. I was not very patient with him. That was my mistake.

One day, I expressed my concerns to my family, and my mother and aunt gently reminded me that everything works out in Gods timing, and that I had to lead by my steps and focus on MY relationship with God and trust that he would work. So I took those words to heart.

Not long after that conversation, I gave birth to my son, and I began to see the change. I knew he wasn’t quite where I wanted him to be, but I had to remind myself that It wasn’t about me. It was about him and God, so I had to continue to show him Gods love through my actions. I had to keep leading gently and focusing on God first.
Now this was the hardest “waiting period” ever. Knowing I would be saved and go to heaven, but not knowing whether I would see the love of my life there or not. I had my ups and downs, never holding fast. Despite my insecurity and my doubt, my faithlessness…. God continued to do his work in my husband.

I take NO credit for his salvation, but I give God the credit, because where I failed, he prevailed. My husband and I were baptized together in may of this year (2013) and we call that our wedding day. It was the beginning of a whole new journey in marriage, and in Christ. I am proud to say, we are happier in our marriage than we ever were, and I am thankful beyond words, that God is so faithful. When you put God front and center, your marriage cannot fail.

Matthew 19:26

26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

One thought on “Is my spouse lost forever?

  1. Pingback: A Godly Wife: Submission?! REALLY?! | The Word Against The World

Leave a Reply

