Are you worried? Afraid? Depressed?

Why do you worry believers? Why?

Your car is wrecked or broken, you don’t have money, you are in debt to your eyeballs? Is rent due yesterday and you still cant afford to pay it? You lost, or are soon to lose your job? Your husband or wife may leave you? Your children have flown the coop and you don’t know whether or not they will come back alive? These, among other things, are legitimate concerns! Wait! There is more!

Who do you turn to in times of need? Does it calm your worries? Did it ever occur to you, to faithfully turn to God?

Matthew 11:28-30

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

 

Turning to God is the obvious answer here, and let me tell you why. HE IS OMNISCIENT, ALL KNOWING, AND ALL POWERFUL!!!!

Can you argue with that? No, I didn’t think so. So why do you fret? Is God not greater than your worries? In the words of my favorite song, “I will praise you in this storm”

That is what you have to do.

I have been there folks, I have been in a place where there seemed to be no hope for me and I lost sleep in worry. I hardly could function out of fear. That is not the life God has in mind for us. Its natural to worry, but that is where it should end. We worry, then we pray, then we have peace. End of story.

“it isn’t that easy” some would say, but you know what? I’ve been saying that for about 15 years. It isn’t that easy. Nothing is changing. My circumstances prevent me!!!

That isn’t how it works. Faith is FAITH and no matter how you look at it, nothing will be done and you will not have peace until you have FAITH!!!!

Philippians 4:19

19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

Our needs WILL be met, in obedience, and through faith!!!

Telling God, “I pray that you will change my circumstances and I will have peace and be happy”, and then not having faith that he will, is a huge mistake. Its like you are telling the all mighty all powerful creator of the universe and your own body that he cannot help you. Your problems are too big for God? Really? No, that is not possible.

 

Sit down, take a deep breath, and have FAITH!!!

I will tell you now that my circumstances in life still suck! They really do! I wont go into detail (no body wants to hear that! haha!), but basically, for a long time, I was telling myself that God wasnt big enough to help me through these things. Sure enough, one day, I hit a big bump in the road. Everything seemed to be working out so well, I was on the verge of al that I have wanted over the last year, and it blew up in my face. I cried, and threw a tantrum, and worried myself sick, and then I gave up. I just Gave it to God, because what good is it going to do? I really truely was DONE!!! I couldnt take it anymore…. then, out of nowhere, came this overwhelming sense of peace. I had finally given my burdens and worries to God and he had calmed my soul. Sure enough, slowly, and with all the faith in the world, I saw God changing things little by little in my life.

Not being so worried and scared and lost, I began to open my eyes and see my BLESSINGS!!!! There is so much love and rewarding things in my life, I never thought I could be this happy. My circumstances havent changed at all really. My heart truly has and that is what matters in this life. Not cars or jobs or lost friends…. What matters is our relationship with God, and our family.

I am a better mother, wife, friend, and daughter when the peace of God is hovering over me like a big fluffy cloud. I can tell you honestly, you will be too 🙂

Matthew 6:25-34

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

 

3 thoughts on “Are you worried? Afraid? Depressed?

  1. Pingback: When I Thought I Was God: The Danger of Fretting & Figuring | ladies loving god

Leave a Reply

