The Recovering Hypocrite

I am far far far from perfect. A recovering hypocrite. In fact, today, my husband calls me and we were talking and at one point he told me that spending so much time out of the house was keeping me from doing what I need to do IN the house.

I was MAAADDD. I got defensive, turned it around on him, and told him, well basically told him he sucked.

Then I got off the phone and turned on my audio bible and felt like a LOAD OF CRAP!!!! I knew in my heart that he was right. I was defensive because I felt convicted and badly for not keeping up with my duties in the home.

Some would say that it isn’t my responsibility to do everything in the home. Well maybe not, but that doesn’t change that I should still respond to my husband in a way of submission. I should accept his correction with understanding and a pure heart, not one that jumps to conclusions and points out HIS wrongs.  Sure, he has things he does that drive me up the wall, and I tell him about it when it is actually a problem. I do it with love and understanding, just as he did for me. For some reason though, I took his kind correction as an insult and I lost it. Who am I? That I can correct but not receive correction? I am a hypocrite!

I tell myself all the time, that when it comes to strangers and friends and family that I should respond with love and kindness that shows the light of God, so that I may lead others to Christ through my actions and words. Then I go and treat my own husband with ferociousness and an unforgiving spirit. He may have been wrong about some things, but does that excuse MY behavior? No it does not!

So I messaged him, apologizing, and we have decided that we will go before God TOGETHER with our problems. Not to cause blame, or stir up controversy, but so that God may bring us together, and correct us each to show us the way we should go as husband and wife respectively.

In the end, my husband respected me more for my apology and that I had sought Gods help after our conversation instead of jumping to more conclusions and holding on to anger that would have torn us apart slowly for years. So here is what I am getting at: we need to practice what we preach, seek Gods will in everything we do, and accept correction. Examine ourselves with an unbiased eye and really look deep into ourselves. We need to read the word and practice what it says. None of us are perfect, and we are all bound to have mix ups and set backs like I did today, but it is how we deal with them that makes us Christians and worthy of the name “child of God”.

Christ died for us, he saved us. It is up to us, from then on out, to seek to do Gods will so that we may help others be saved, and avoid falling from grace.

James 1:19-25

19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. 21 Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.

22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror 24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25 But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

Leave a comment