All this STUFF!!!

My husband and I recently decided to rid ourselves of most of our earthly “stuff” we have been keeping around for possible future use, and let me tell you, it is freeing!!!!

Not only do I get to finally lose all of this clutter, which makes me nuts, but we are finding out that all of that “stuff” isn’t as dear to us as we always made it out to be! I’m still working on all of that, its taken forever for us to do this but again, all of it is so worth it. In the process, it has gotten easier and easier to just LET THINGS GO!!!

I have always been a bit of a pack rat, keeping everything around for “when we move into a new house”, or “for when we finally have a baby girl (hahahahahah)” and a million other stupid, illogical reasons.

Something I didn’t think about, was that I am just letting this stuff collect dust in my house when there is someone out there who might actually NEED these things! In my transformation I have been trying to be more “like Christ”, so I ask myself….. would Jesus have kept this around? Would Jesus have been a hording pack rat? NO!!!! Jesus would have rid himself of the garbage and gave his possessions (if he had any) to those who are in need!

Matthew 6:19-21

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

I look a little closer at the moral part of all of this, and I think of this story:

Matthew 19:16-30

New International Version (NIV)

The Rich and the Kingdom of God

16 Just then a man came up to Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?”

17 “Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, keep the commandments.”

18 “Which ones?” he inquired.

Jesus replied, “‘You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, 19 honor your father and mother,’[a] and ‘love your neighbor as yourself.’[b]”

20 “All these I have kept,” the young man said. “What do I still lack?”

21 Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

22 When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth.

23 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Truly I tell you, it is hard for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of heaven. 24 Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

25 When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, “Who then can be saved?”

26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

27 Peter answered him, “We have left everything to follow you! What then will there be for us?”

28 Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne, you who have followed me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 29 And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or wife[c] or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. 30 But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.

I like to think of this as my “renewal”. I kept things that we currently DO use and need, but everything else: JUST GONE!!!!! Thank you God for your grace. It allowed me to part from “things”.

My prayer for you is that you too will find a freedom in giving and living the simple life one day! It is rewarding and blessed to be rid of all of the distractions of earthly things. I pray that you will live for God in everything you do, and that if you do choose to give things up, that God will bring you many many blessings with every thing you let go of that isn’t  Jesus!

Leave a Reply

