Why do good people suffer?

My husband just blows me away sometimes. Mostly because he is usually so quiet and reserved. So when he talks, it makes a huge impact on me, others who know him, and even those who don’t.

Yesterday he came home with a great story from his new job about a guy had a chance to witness to. I wasn’t there for the conversation, but my husband told me that they were talking about God, Christianity, and his relationship with God. The man asked my husband why there are so many good people suffering in the world and so many bad people getting away with things. What my husband said in response made me so proud:

Matthew 5:44-45

44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.

This holds so much importance in my life. I have been asked many many times how I can love a God that allowed me to go through what I have gone through, and who “let” me be abused and hurt as a child. I have been asked and I never really knew how to answer other than to say “I am who I am today because of that”. While that was a great answer for ME, it wasnt much of an answer for those who didn’t take the path I did in breaking free from my past.

So its a big debate in the world right now. If there is a “god” why does he let good things happen to bad people, and bad things happen to good people and the innocent? The answer to that is a lot simpler than I have made it in the past, and my husband helped me see that recently. LIFE, the good and the bad, happens to everyone! I say this as my family is poor and enduring many a storm right now. The answer is how WE deal with these storms. If we can push through a storm all while looking to God, he may not change your situation immediately, but I can say from personal experience that he will make it easier to endure. He will lift your spirits and give you the strength to handle what LIFE gives you, When you get through those storms, God will bless you immensely if you used the storm as a way to strengthen in him. I can tell you that from experience as well.

I was abused, hurt, and all sorts of broken from the things life threw at me as a teenager. When I finally looked to the real answer to my problems, GOD, things got a lot easier. I began to see blessings where most would see discouragement. I realized that despite my pain and sorrow, my father in heaven was there to comfort me.

If you were going through something at school as a child, your parents would do their best to help you through it even though they cant MAKE IT GO AWAY! Most times, they don’t WANT to make it go away because it will help you learn a lesson that you need to learn in life. Well that is the same concept with God. Instead of just taking away the pain every time you asked, he would ease your heart to make it easier to get through. If you think about it, we really are who we are based on our experiences and how we get through them. If God swooped in and pushed everything bad out of your path you would honestly be comparable to the rich and spoiled. If you watch any reality TV, or see any of the poor rich girls I have seen on the news, you would understand why it is better that we aren’t that way. They may look like they have it made, but if sex tapes and jail time aren’t enough to change your opinion of what their lives are like, then a good look at the newest celebrity gossip will. I consider those people poor, and myself and others who love God like I do, RICH!!!! We all know that what you endure makes you stronger, so why would you want to be weak in life, or in faith!!!!

JAMES 1:2-4

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

So my prayer today, is that we can all stop holding on to the “whys” and “its not fair”, and start holding fast to God. Even though it doesn’t look like he helps much from an outsiders view, you have to experience this peace to know what it is about, and it is worth EVERY SECOND of the pain we endure. Every second of that pain is what got me that much closer to feeling the fullness of Gods love. That is my prayer for you. Hold on my friends because there will be a day where pain is no longer in existence. We will be healed, and there will be celebration and happiness for eternity together, all of Gods people, in heaven!

James 1:12

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

Leave a Reply

