http://hopeforallmin.wordpress.com/tag/righteous/

These thoughts are not my own!

Do you ever struggle with thoughts that pop into your head? Whether they be good or bad, you really didnt intend on, or try to, think about them? Ive had this happen with people, events, and thoughts of action.
I am diagnosed bipolar. I may be unmedicated and stable, but I still struggle with the occasional thought that threatens to take me over entirely. What do I do with these thoughts?

Now when I say CANNOT CONTROL them, I mean that I cannot at all stop myself from thinking them. They are like someone talking to me, only it is inside my head. They don’t go away very fast, even if I am repulsed by my thought and I try to make it go away. There have been times that I have thought I was going to lose my mind because I couldn’t understand myself and why my mind is doing what it is doing. It felt like there were little voices swimming around in my head telling me to do something I would never in a million years do.

Now invading thoughts happens to even the most disciplined and loyal of gods children. So what do you do with them?

Mark 7:20-22

And he said, “What comes out of a person is what defiles him. For from within, out of the heart of man, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, coveting, wickedness, deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride, foolishness.

Well here’s a short story for you. I have been suffering pretty badly lately with these uncontrollable thoughts. I’m not on the verge of breaking, but my head is hurting and fighting them off with the word is enough, until ten seconds later a new thought comes along and threatens my sanity. Its hard though, because sometimes I get thoughts that are not my own and they are from God, but often, they are from Satan. Last night, my husband and I were watching the Wednesday night sermon on live streaming, and my pastor was praying and said something like this: “I know there are those of you who are having thoughts you cannot control, there are those whose thoughts feel like little voices in your head pulling you every which way. God wants you to know that these thoughts are not from him.”
Now this wasn’t an exact quote, I did the best I could from memory, but I just about cried my eyes out when I heard that… I knew in my heart he was talking directly to me even if he didn’t know it. Hearing that made me realize that I needed to write this post. I know there are so many others out there feeling lost, scared, or like you are a terrible person because of how you cannot control those thoughts. Just remember, those thoughts are NOT your own, they are NOT from God, they were created by Satan to put fear in your heart and confusion in your mind. I have been down that road, there was a time where I listened to every thought in my head. Whether it be to go out at night, or in the end of those days, to kill myself. That was the weakness i had without God. I had no power over my thoughts and feelings. God himself, through reading his word and waiting in prayer, has given me the grace and strength to battle those thoughts, urges, and feelings. I’ve battled them off enough to where certain ones don’t come back. The only thing that allowed me to do this was knowing Gods word, and knowing that in my weakness, he is made strong. He will not allow those thoughts to overcome me as long as I bring them to him in faith that he will help me through this internal battle.

Colossians 3:5-10

Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. On account of these the wrath of God is coming. In these you too once walked, when you were living in them. But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth. Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices …

These battles are never finished, not until we are dead anyways… there will always be thoughts in our head until then, some from us, some from God, and some from Satan. So what do YOU do with your thoughts?

Philippians 4:8 ESV / 64 helpful votes

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

 

My prayer for you today is that you will not allow your thoughts to control you. I pray that when you have a thought against your will, that you will take it to the lord so he can cast it away from you. I pray you will arm yourself with the sword, the word of God, because there is a battle going on right now for your heart and your mind. God will always win, so I pray you will surrender to him now. I pray that God will be your strength and your stability when you feel weak and unsure. I pray this all in Jesus name, amen.

One thought on “These thoughts are not my own!

  1. Pingback: These thoughts are not my own! | lightspeedtechnologies01

Leave a Reply

