https://www.rca.org/revitalizationvision

Death to “self”

There is a lot of controversy about what happens when you are saved after you say the prayer of salvation and become a child of God. Some think you must follow strict religious doctrines, some think its OK to just keep living life the way they were. Some even go back and forth.

Galatians 2:20

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

I was “saved” about 5 times in my life, but I didn’t get what it really meant until this past year. I never cared much about my walk with God, but that I did what I wanted and God just kind of “followed” me and I would talk to him when I needed something. Other than that, and the occasional Sunday I would go to church and act like a good girl, I didn’t bother changing the lifestyle I was living, I was happy keeping my “faith” to myself, I didn’t really get worked up about the things of this world that God hates. In fact, I was doing quite a few of those without a care in the world, and this watered down Idea that because I said that prayer, I’m going to heaven anyways. Yeah I was in youth group at church, and I would worship with the rest of them, but all while doing that I was committing fornication with my boyfriend, I was listening to music that slandered our God, and I was using his name in vain, along with many a curse word to boot. I could go on for days and list the sins I committed while I was busy living for myself. I bet you all could identify with most of them yourselves at some point in your lives.

Mark 8:35

For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it.

Then God came into the picture and convicted me against almost all of the things that I once loved. He says to me, ” That’s enough Amy, you know this is not my will. Come do my will and I will bless you and your whole family”. My heart shook with many a word and feeling from God as he changed my very NATURE. I still make mistakes, but now when I sin against y father, it breaks my heart and I do whatever it is that I can to not do it again. My heart breaks for what breaks his! Its only something you will feel if you allow it.

Luke 9:23

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

however, I have seen the power that my obedience to God has brought me. When I was TRULY saved, I died to myself. God took OVER in my life and made it his. Now I have seen blessings overflowing for us. Financially the lord is providing beyond anything we expected. Anything we receive in abundance, we give away. The more we give away, the more we receive in abundance. the cycle is amazing. We obey God, we follow his word, and we make him our one and only priority, and he makes us his children, he spoils us, and helps us become people that can love the world and the world can be drawn into Christ through us. None can get to the father except through the son.

Romans 6:1-23

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it? Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. …

Think about it!!!! How could our work be done at that prayer when there are so many out there who need our prayers, guidance, and support. There are Christians who do not read the word every day and do not live as God wants for them! Its up to us to help them change that. This is much bigger than our “self”, this is the kingdom! This is a whole earth full of eternal lives we are talking about. One day, judgment will fall on us and we will have to account for our lives and what we have done with our God given gifts and talents. What have you done for him? what have you done FOR HIM, and for those around you that you love? Christ does command us to love one another more than ourselves.

 

Philippians 2:1-30

So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, …

My prayer for you all today is that you will learn to die to yourself, and live for Christ. I pray that his ways will be your ways, and that his words will be your words. I pray that we will all be renewed in spirit daily so that we are less likely to falter, and faster to get back on track when we do. I pray that we will allow God to be our strength and rock during times of trials and sorrow. i pray that we can be an encouragement and blessing to others through our faith and love for Christ. in Jesus name, amen.

5 thoughts on “Death to “self”

  1. I know it is taught that the sinner’s prayer yields salvation but see my blog article about the same it falls short of being able to get the job done. You need to know who you are making Lord and you need to know what it means to make him lord and you need to know that God raised him up from the dead and that he is alive and well in his new body at the right hand of God, which has to be a place of honor as God the father does not have hands or any other body parts. It is a figure of speech, to emphasize that Jesus is in the position of blessing beside his heavenly Father. To make Jesus lord is a commitment to become a disciple to the man who listened to God and did as he was told. It is a life filled with love and blessings and since the decision is deeper than just saying the words, it means being aware that you will be receiving the baptism of Holy Spirit and the power that being spirit filled brings to your life. It means entering into a life that has so much freedom, grace and mercy, so that you can learn to depend on God’s power and promises, not get entangled with legalistic religion. It is a relationship with the Creator and His family, these are concepts not found in the sinners prayer or a gospel of John you need the gospel found in the church epistles. In the gospels Mt., Mk., Lk., and Jn, Jesus is fulfilling the Mosaic law, not until Rm is it revealed that because he did that that he was the end of the Mosaic law as a controlling aspect of a mans life. Christianity is not proselytizing yourself to being a Hebrew. It is a change from the I only do what pleasures my senses lifestyle or hedonism. It means learning to be disciplined to think the Word of someone. This starts with having respect for that other persons God given rights to choose a life that does not endanger or threaten yours. It means having a desire to learn the truth of God’s Word and letting it be a factor in (or perhaps better yet the reason for) your day by day decisions. Selah

    • That is very true! It needs to be said, but God will hear and know what is in their hearts. The reality of the matter, as I said, is that you become truly saved when you come to the end of your self!! You say that prayer, and you need to live for God. Saying the prayer is NOT and will never be enough. Its a start though…. it is a start for sure. Then the holy spirit comes in with conviction and love.

  2. I agree with both that saying a particular prayer is not what God is seeking. It is a strange passivity that people need to accept in order to let the Word and the Spirit do the work of instilling and building our faith. By letting go of trusting ourselves more than trusting God, the power of our newly planted faith quickly takes root. As it grows, we experience the freedom to let go of our old selves and identities. Who we are is not truly dictated by the secular world. Who we are is children of a loving God.

    And when we allow the Spirit to work in us, as our freedom grows, we naturally go out and do God’s work. Again, it’s not really us “doing” something or following the Law – it is living in the trusting of God through Jesus.

Leave a Reply

